TEXT BY JULIE SENK
PHOTOS COURTESY OF COLDWELL BANKER AMERICAN HERITAGE
Dubbed the “City of Homes” in 1912 by the commerce-oriented Maine Board of Trade Journal, Bangor experienced a period of rapid residential construction at the turn of the 20th century. Real-estate developers banked on the appeal of spacious lots, clean air, and the convenience of the city’s streetcar system to draw middle-class families to newly built dwellings the Journal deemed “uniformly pleasant and attractive” on the outskirts of downtown. John Seavey, a clerk for the Eastern Steamship Company, and his wife, Flora, were likely the first to reside in one such home, this circa 1900 Queen Anne on outer Hammond Street.
With its attractive asymmetrical shape, band of shingles, dentil-studded cornice, and decorative corner brackets, the Seavey House remains true to its Queen Anne roots. The interior also retains an abundance of original details, including molded door and window casings, a staircase with an embellished newel post, a vibrant stained-glass window, an ornate carved-oak fireplace surround, and period hardware and light fixtures. New owners will enjoy the sizable yard and proximity to Fairmount Park.
A new roof should be at the top of the list. The front porch needs structural and aesthetic repairs, some wood siding requires replacing, and the entire exterior should be scraped and repainted. The interior warrants an overhaul to address damaged wood floors and plaster walls and ceilings, as well as a dated kitchen, while the bedrooms and primary bath would benefit from cosmetic upgrades.